Shooting Stars! Vic Reeves, Bob Mortimer, Jack Dee, Ulrika Jonsson

Whoah yesh – following a successful Christmas special in 2008 followed by a retrospective documentary, BBC Two have finally yielded and commissioned a years-overdue new series of Shooting Stars!

Vic Reeves and Bob Mortimer are back at last as hosts of the most anarchic and entertaining celebrity quiz show ever, and once more are joined by team captain Ulrika Jonsson, Little Britain‘s Matt Lucas as George Dawes and new team captain (first seen at Christmas) Jack Dee.

The classic Shooting Stars regularly featured much antagonising of Ulrika, while successive team captains Mark Lamarr and later Will Self would offer considerable opposition and constant refusal to engage in the silliness – much to the amusement of Vic and Bob.

If anyone feared that motherhood and maturity have in any way changed Ulrika, however, they should find themselves heartened by Bob Mortimer’s words:

“We’re really looking forward to it. Jack is going to be a great headmaster and Ulrika is as game as ever so it should be a very pleasant evening’s journey.”

Following the series’ original premier in 1993, Shooting Stars ran for 5 series until 2002.  Six episodes are to be recorded for the new run which is set to be aired in the Autumn, and it’s interesting that a 1990s comedy hit should return months after another; Red Dwarf is set to return over the Easter weekend.

With the reinstatement of the legendary Dove from Above round, Vic and Bob aim to take Shooting Stars back to its roots…

“We have a new attitude and new rounds and this series will feature a secret weapon which will assist us in re-inventing the panel show again, just as Shooting Stars originally did.”

I personally cannot wait – I’ve already checked for free BBC tickets!


About the author

I'm Christian Cawley, a massive fan of UK fantasy television (particularly Doctor Who) and British Comedy.

"Quintessentially British" is my look at those two very British flavours of sci-fi/fantasy and comedy.
More from this author »

  • BBC One
  • BBC Two
  • BBC Three
  • ITV1
  • ITV2
  • 4
  • E4
  • Film4
  • More4
  • Five
  • Fiver
  • Sky1