Rugby World Cup 2011

Friday, 9 September 2011, 8:30AM – 11:30AM


Friday 9 September: 8.30am – 9.15am 

The 2011 Rugby World Cup begins in Auckland with the traditional opening ceremony as New Zealand welcomes the world back to the country, after hosting the first ever competition in 1987. 

Steve Rider presents coverage of the event, and is joined by three World Cup winners in Sean Fitzpatrick, Francois Pienaar and Lawrence Dallaglio. 


Friday 9 September: 9.15am – 11.30am: New Zealand vs Tonga 

Steve Rider presents coverage of the opening match of the Rugby World Cup between New Zealand and Tonga, as the All Blacks look to justify their favourites tag and win the Webb Ellis Trophy on home soil. 

Also in the studio are 3 World Cup winners – New Zealand’s Sean Fitzpatrick, South Africa’s Francois Pienaar and Lawrence Dallaglio, a winner with England in 2003.

About the author

  • BBC One
  • BBC Two
  • BBC Three
  • ITV1
  • ITV2
  • 4
  • E4
  • Film4
  • More4
  • Five
  • Fiver
  • Sky1