Indian Premier League

Wednesday, 4 April 2012, 1:45PM – 2:45PM

THE glitziest cricket tournament in the world – the Indian Premier League – is back, and ITV4 is covering every game.

The channel will be showing 72 of 76 games live and highlights of the other matches from the start of the competition on April 4.

The IPL, known for its glamour and razzmatazz, is in its fifth year and the first game this time will feature 2011 champions Chennai Super Kings starting the defence of their title against 2010 runners-up Mumbai Indians.

Major stars of the game including Sachin Tendulkar, MS Dhoni, Chris Gayle, Kevin Pietersen, Lasith Malinga and Kumar Sangakkara will all be involved in the Twenty20 tournament as nine sides battle it out for the title.

Competing in the IPL this year alongside Chennai Super Kings and Mumbai Indians are Deccan Chargers, Delhi Daredevils, Kings XI Punjab, Kolkata Knight Riders, Pune Warriors India, Rajasthan Royals and Royal Challengers Bangalore.

It is ITV’s third year covering the competition and Matt Smith and Shonali Nagrani return as main anchors. The team of presenters will also include former England cricketer Isa Guha as well as Angus Scott and Mark Pougatch.

Presenter Matt Smith said: “I can’t wait for the big hitting madness to start again. The Indian Premier League really is compulsive viewing.”

Niall Sloane, ITV’s Director of Sport, said: “The Indian Premier League never fails to enthral. It is a wonderful competition and celebration of cricket at its most vibrant.” 

Regular pundits include former England captain Alec Stewart and West Indian great Clive Lloyd, alongside ex-professional Simon Hughes and a host of former England players including Mark Butcher, Dominic Cork, Vikram Solanki, John Emburey and Mark Ramprakash, casting their expert eyes over proceedings.

  • BBC One
  • BBC Two
  • BBC Three
  • ITV1
  • ITV2
  • 4
  • E4
  • Film4
  • More4
  • Five
  • Fiver
  • Sky1