Last Of The Summer Wine

Last Of The Summer Wine, the world’s longest-running sitcom, has been recommissioned for a further six half-hours by Jay Hunt, Controller, BBC One, and Lucy Lumsden, former Controller, Comedy Commissioning.

Filming will take place this summer, in and around the Yorkshire town of Holmfirth, for transmission in 2010.

The series, which is a whimsical comedy about people in the autumn of their years, is written by Roy Clarke and stars Peter Sallis as Norman Clegg alongside several other eminent cast members including Russ Abbot (Hobbo), Frank Thornton (Truly), Brian Murphy (Alvin), June Whitfield (Nelly) and Burt Kwouk (Entwistle).

Mark Freeland, Head of Comedy at the BBC, said: “I am pleased that Roy Clarke’s much loved and unique comedy is once more returning to BBC One.”

Writer Roy Clarke said: “It’s like going home again.”

The series is written by Roy Clarke and produced and directed by Alan J W Bell.

Last Of The Summer Wine has clocked up more than 30 series. The series debuted on the BBC in 1973.

  • BBC One
  • BBC Two
  • BBC Three
  • ITV1
  • ITV2
  • 4
  • E4
  • Film4
  • More4
  • Five
  • Fiver
  • Sky1