Let’s Dance For Sport Relief

7:10pm Saturday 25 February on BBC ONE

Hosted by Alex Jones and Steve Jones, tonight’s show will see dazzling performances from acts including comedian Ava Vidal; TOWIE favourites Amy Childs and Harry Derbridge; actor and comedian Miles Jupp; legendary skier, Eddie ‘The Eagle’ Edwards, and completing this week’s line-up is Shameless star Alice Barry.

In this second heat, the five celebrity acts will be hitting the dance floor in a bid to win audience votes and impress the celebrity panel, which includes comedians Rufus Hound, Iain Lee and Vic Reeves. Viewers will also be treated to musical performances from Brit nominee Ed Sheeran and pop sensation Alexandra Burke.

Those still due to take part in the series include Radio 1 DJ Scott Mills and pop star Olly Murs; comedian Omid Djalili; comedy duo Watson & Oliver; stand-up comic Patrick Monahan and comedian, writer and presenter Rowland Rivron.

The spectacular final will see eight celebrity acts dance hoping to be crowned Let’s Dance For Sport Relief Champion 2012. Proceeds from the voting will go to Sport Relief.

Confirmed for Saturday 25 February on BBC One at 7.10-8.30pm

Ep 2/5

The BBC today announced the first celebrity names lining up to trip the light fantastic for this year’s Let’s Dance For Sport Relief.

Katy Brand, Rufus Hound and Shappi Khorsandi represent the world of comedy, alongside some of the nations favourite Grumpy Old Women, Jenny Eclair, Linda Robson, Lesley Joseph and Susie Blake.

Also taking to the dance floor will be sporting greats such as footballers Peter Shilton and Rodney Marsh and snooker legends Willie Thorne and Dennis Taylor.

This year’s contestants will be judged by an all-new and exciting panel that sees the judging line-up change for all four shows.

The panel of three will predominantly feature faces from the world of comedy and celebrities who performed last year. Together the viewers and the panel will vote for their favourite dancers to go through to the final. Comedians confirmed so far are Jack Dee and Frank Skinner.

Claudia Winkleman and Steve Jones return to host the show which kicks off Saturday 20 February on BBC One.

The series will run over four weeks, comprising three heats and culminating in a spectacular final dance off on Saturday 13 March. The show will see some of the nation’s favourite celebrities pay homage to iconic dance routines in a bid to wow viewers with their moves and a chance to be crowned champion of the dance floor.

Each week a celebrity act (a mix of solo dancers, duos and groups) will perform a number of famous dances such as Single Ladies (Beyonce), Greased Lightning (Grease), Smooth Criminal (Michael Jackson), Bad Guys (Bugsy Malone) and Jai Ho (Slumdog Millionaire).

They will work with a team of top choreographers to master the dance moves and with a team of stylists to represent their dance icon’s look. Will they rise to the Sport Relief challenge when they take to the floor and give the performance of their lives in front of a live studio audience and the panel? Who goes through and who gets a chance to compete in the final will be down to the public and the panel.

The final will see six celebrity acts dance with the hope of being crowned the Let’s Dance For Sport Relief Champion on Saturday 13 March.

Proceeds from the voting will go to Sport Relief.

Jo Wallace, Executive Editor, Comedy Entertainment, BBC, said: “Saturday nights on the BBC are all about eventful, big, fun, family entertainment and Let’s Dance For Sport Relief absolutely fits that bill. Following on from the last series, the celebrity packed show aims to have audiences singing and dancing along in their living rooms and no doubt in fits of laughter, as the stars of the show try to impress them and the judges with their dance moves, all in the name of charity.”

Comedian Robert Webb was crowned champion last year, when he wowed the public and judges in last year’s grand final when he produced a spectacular dance routine to Flashdance: What A Feeling. Tune in to see who dances off with viewers’ hearts to be crowned Celebrity Let’s Dance Champion for 2010.

The BBC has announced the return of celebrity packed dance extravaganza Let’s Dance For Sport Relief.

Hosted by Claudia Winkleman and Steve Jones, the daft dance-off will return to BBC One, with a host of stars eager to step in to their sparkly pumps in aid of Sport Relief. Or, at least, making us laugh as much as Robert Webb did when he did his Flashdance routine.

Famous faces from comedy, sport and television will dance their version of famous dances from the world of films, pop promos and stage shows in a bid to be crowned champion of the dance-floor by viewers.

The series will run over four Saturday nights, comprising three heats and culminate in a spectacular final dance-off ahead of 2010’s big night of Sport Relief.

The celebrities will work with a team of choreographers to master their dance moves and then take to the floor in front of a live studio audience and a panel of fellow celebrities. Who gets through to the final and who wins is up to the viewers and the panel.

Of course, proceeds from the voting will go to Sport Relief.

Claudia Winkleman said: “I have always said I would do anything Sport Relief ask me to do. I would eat tangerines for a month and I would live in a kayak. The fact they ask me to stand next to a tall handsome Welsh boy and introduce comics and actors re-creating famous dances is extremely lucky. Working on Let’s Dance is the most fun a presenter can have. And that’s a fact.”

Steve Jones added: “Last years’ Let’s Dance was probably the most fun I’ve ever had working on a show.”

The Sport Relief Weekend takes place from Friday 19 March to Sunday 21 March 2010 including a night of Sport Relief telly on BBC One and the Sainsbury’s Sport Relief Mile events across the UK on Sunday 21 March.

Since its launch in 2002 over 1.25 million people have taken part in Sport Relief, helping to raise over £75 million.

Further information is available at www.sportrelief.com

  • BBC One
  • BBC Two
  • BBC Three
  • ITV1
  • ITV2
  • 4
  • E4
  • Film4
  • More4
  • Five
  • Fiver
  • Sky1