The National Television Awards

Wednesday, 25 January 2012, 7:30PM – 10:00PM

The 17th National Television Awards will be broadcast LIVE and in peak time from London’s 02 Arena on Wednesday 25th January 2012. Hosted by Dermot O’Leary, the night honours the stars of the small screen in the only TV awards ceremony voted for by the public. 

Year after year, The X Factor has triumphed in the Talent Show category, but could Strictly Come Dancing triumph this time round as the two go head to head for a NTA trophy. They’ll also be battling it out against Dancing on Ice and Britain’s Got Talent, who are also nominees. 

ITV’s hit drama Downton Abbey will be hoping to get its hands on some silverware as a first-time nominee. But it will have to beat two former NTA winners – Dr Who and Waterloo Road before it can take the trophy. Merlin, which bewitched viewers, completes the line-up. 

More than a thousand of TV’s biggest stars will pack The 02 Arena with red carpet glamour as all the nation’s favourite faces from our most popular programmes compete for honours in fourteen fiercely-contested categories. 

The new Reality Programme category sees Essex heartthrob Mark Wright go up against himself as The Only Way is Essex and I’m A Celebrity Get Me Out of Here! are both nominated – but the star faces fierce competition from foodies favourite Come Dine With Me and Lord Alan Sugar’s, The Apprentice’ 

Jonathan Ross goes up against Graham Norton, the chatty man himself, Alan Carr and the Loose Women in the Talk Show category. 

NTA host Dermot O’Leary may have to do some nifty footwork at the ceremony swapping his presenter’s spot for the winner’s podium as he’s up for best Entertainment Presenter, alongside the Tyneside twosome Ant and Dec, quirky Keith Lemon and Michael McIntyre. 

One of the highlights of the ceremony is certain to be the presentation of the Special Recognition Award which salutes a towering television talent. Past winners have included four knights of the realm….Sir Trevor McDonald, Sir David Jason, Sir David Attenborough and Sir Bruce Forsyth. Who will it be this year? 

Now in its seventeenth year, the National Television Awards is firmly established as Britain’s premier award ceremony whose distinctive feature is that all the winners are chosen by the public in a huge nationwide poll. 

After the show, tune in to ITV2 for exclusive interviews with all the winners, backstage banter and the latest showbiz gossip with Caroline Flack and Matt Edmondson. 

  • BBC One
  • BBC Two
  • BBC Three
  • ITV1
  • ITV2
  • 4
  • E4
  • Film4
  • More4
  • Five
  • Fiver
  • Sky1